How Tony Robbins Sets Goal – Part 2

Welcome back! I’m certain that you are enjoying and APPLYING this information right away – it’s the best way to achieve results and to get the things you want out of life. Again, if you follow me over the next few weeks I guarantee that you will experience a shift in your job search, career, and your life.

Let’s review Part 1 Gene gave 3 specific distinctions:
Know what you want – decide where you want to go.
o 95% of Americans don’t have written goals.
o Without aim we drift
o Reticular Activation System (RAS), part of brain that help convert images to reality.
Write your ideas down in detail
o Journal Your Ideas – this allows them to become real or to materialize (to become matter)
o Or Video tape or audio record your ideas to record (this is an easier process)
Find Pictures or images to surround yourself with
o Use a vision board (in our Career Mastery Program there is a great Vision Board Process)
o Use electronic vision boarding (Use the internet to grab images for your screen saver on your computer of smart phone)

Here’s how I’m using this part of the goals setting process for 2011:
I started by reviewing my wants – which included a review of what I wanted last year to see if anything transferred over to this year. i.e. health/fitness, relationship, family, business/career, etc. These are continually in my focus so I always bring elements of them forward – but also delete aspects of them based on my progress, growth or change of direction.

I’ve written down in detail what more I’d like to accomplish this year, which leads toward my “Outcome”. Remember, goals are milestones that lead to “Outcomes”. So when goal setting, always start with the question, “What is my outcome” i.e. to have a successful online e-learning university where I can share ideas with people that help them find their dream jobs. One way I keep track of this is by using a white board in my office so that I can interact with ideas on a regular basis. Many people write goals and don’t look at them again – you must be in touch with your ideas – they will serve you. More on this later.

I have a number of images that support my vision. In day 1 of our Career Mastery course, there is a chapter entitled, The Secrete of a Compelling Vision”. A vision is like a final destination, where are you going? What do you need to do to get there? I have a vision board that has been morphing over the past years and have updated mine this year. Also, my desktop computer is where I have a screen saver of my new visions playing. I recently gave an electronic picture frame as a gift to a friend that had images of his dreams on it – I call it an electronic vision board. Another simple thing you can do is surround your home with images, i.e. photos, magazines, art, clippings, etc. with images that support your vision.

Here’s an important thing to know about this part of the process – the brain doesn’t know the difference between a vivid dream and this state we call reality. Thus, as I say in my Leveraging Linkedin course, “If you can say it, and see it, you can do it!”.

Ok – I hope that has given you another layer of clarity as to how you can apply this information to your job/career search , which is your life.

Dream Job University.com – Career Mastery Course – Goal Setting Workshop with Gene McNaughton Part 2:

  • Please post a blog to let me know what you think about the information and how you are using it.
  • Also visit my new site and let me know what you think! www.DreamJobUniversity.com
  • If you’d like to do any of the programs for free – ask your college to purchase a bulk membership to give it’s students and alumnus. After all, you paid a lot for your education – right!

May you live the life that you dream…

Ron Nash
Founder
http://www.DreamJobUniversity.com (formerly TheFriendZone.Tv)

Leave a Reply

