Which Box Are You In?

I just had the pleasure of delivering a tough love coaching session to someone who is in my Dream Job Online Coaching Program. The conversation was triggered by an event that occurred within the last 24 hours. Truth be told is that I had promised for a couple of months that I was going to make an introduction to a friend of mine who is a principal partner for a very busy architectural firm, but hadn’t done it. So in my recent conversation with him I took massive action and created an introductory email that included his resume.

Within 24 hours I had a response from my friend (hiring manager) stating, “While we are very busy, we are being very careful about hiring people at this time, however, I’m always interested in meeting very talented people.” Mind you, this is a multi-national architectural firm.

Now, I was absolutely delighted when I saw the email and expected a very enthusiastic phone call from my candidate. No – nada – nothing! I waited for a day before I made the call to ask if he had seen the email and he replied that he did. I naturally asked why he didn’t call me follow up on the opportunity. He then started to tell me his “STORY”, you know the thing that many of us do by default when we know that we are full of SHITE!

I listened, as I always do. Then I asked him a few questions, but the biggest question was, “Which Box Are You In?” He replied, “What do you mean?”

I told him a story about an amazing friend of mine named Kenrick Chatman, who has a website called The Career Catalyst.

Kenrick actually reaches out to top Authors, CEO’s, or anyone willing to share information that will benefit a job seeker in this economy. His show and blogs are AWESOME!

Kenrick was unemployed for almost one year before accepting an offer from a company recently. He created this show which allowed build relationships with anyone he targeted.

You see, Kenrick is a fearless person who will do anything that he can to position his brilliance as a savvy out-of-the-box solutions provider (which is what Corporate America resonates with – people who solve problems), which is why he is and will always be employed and employable.

I asked my candidate from Kenrick’s example, “Which Box Are You In?” I said, because Kenrick truly doesn’t even acknowledge that there is a box; but most of us live inside of the constraints of a box.

In fact, I challenged him to do the following:

1. Review and list everything you’ve done this month toward your job search
2. List how many networking, webinars, groups you’ve attended
3. Note whether any of the events gave you “Mission Critical Information”
Note – did you put the information to work or did you do like most people and listen with no action
(many people listen to great ideas and do nothing, they are all in the same box!!!)
4. List how many decision makers you were able to connect with as a result of this information
5. Be very honest with yourself – STOP the things that are not producing tangible results – they are just fillers. DO MORE of the things that produce results
6. Spend more time learning to be outside of your box, which is your comfort zone.

In other words stop doing what EVERYONE else is doing, especially if it’s not working. There are many support groups that exist where people are sharing stories of their struggles and other information, which can be useful, but I’m not a fan of “Pity Parties”, this is the time to be different in your approach.

I can tell more of this story, but the moral is very simple. If you are currently finding yourself in a place where you are not getting the results you need in your job search, ask yourself very honestly, “Which Box Am I In”.

Ron Nash
Master Dream Job Strategist
The Friend Zone.TV
“If you’re not a Friend, you’re just another job seeker!”

Leave a Reply

